The Student Room Group

GCSE

How can you deal with the stress for exams ??
Reply 1
I did not discover how to be a 'serious student' until half way through graduate school - which is a bit long!! I used to study like a fiend, and every time - what i studied was almost never on the exam. Instead, a bunch of stuff that i hadn't looked at was on there. Consequently, i did poorly - almost as though i hadn't studied at all.

I finally hit upon the idea of using my lecture notes to cue me onto what the instructor thought was important. I kept track of how long the instructor spent talking about each topic, and how much work they did in talking about it: did they just talk, draw on the board, have prepared hand-outs to give to the students, use view-graphs and an overhead projector. Figuring that instructors don't want to do extra work any more than students do, i figured that the more work, and the 'harder' work that the instructor did, the more important they thought the topic was, i would multiply the time spent by the 'work factor' of what they did.

As an example, say that 'just talking' rated an 'effort' or 'work factor' multiplier of 1 through 3 (depending upon complexity, and that drawing on the board rated 4 thru 6 (again depending upon complexity. Let's suppose that the instructor first talked about topic "A" for 5 minutes (a 'medium complexity' talk). They then drew diagrams on the board (again medium complexity drawing), for 8 minutes. I would multiply the first interval [5], and then multiply the second 'drawing' interval of 8 minutes by a 5 (medium complexity drawing = 40. Adding the two together gives 50. I would do this for each time 'Topic A' was mentioned in the grading period, and total up the numbers. Ranking all the topics in decreasing order, gives a list of the instructor's 'importance' for each of the topics. This is your 'priority list' of topics for the course.