Jaqe
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hey everyone!

I'm currently a student of English Literature, however, I've recently decided I'd really like to go down the Solicitor route in terms of careers. I've done some research into graduate conversion and I'm a bit confused, as my current course is set to conclude in 2021.

I've always thought that the course I would go on post-graduation would be the GDL, but I've seen the SQE is being introduced in 2021, and often comes up when researching the GDL.

Is the SQE something that is taken after completion of the GDL? Or does the SQE replace the GDL, and if you specifically want to be a solicitor, the SQE will be what you take in place of the GDL from 2021 onwards?

Thanks <3
Last edited by Jaqe; 4 months ago
harrysbar
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by Jaqe)
Hey everyone!

I'm currently a student of English Literature, however, I've recently decided I'd really like to go down the Solicitor route in terms of careers. I've done some research into graduate conversion and I'm a bit confused, as my current course is set to conclude in 2021.

I've always thought that the course I would go on post-graduation would be the GDL, but I've seen the SQE is being introduced in 2021, and often comes up when researching the GDL.

Is the SQE something that is taken after completion of the GDL? Or does the SQE replace the GDL, and if you specifically want to be a solicitor, the SQE will be what you take in place of the GDL from 2021 onwards?

Thanks <3
The SQE is going to replace the GDL for people wishing to become solicitors, but there's not much clear information on it at the moment. For a few years, it is likely that the two systems will run together so people can choose which one to follow.
nulli tertius
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by Jaqe)
Hey everyone!

Thanks <3