beefboss
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Thoughts on this?

I have a 1st class degree in physics and an MSc in nuclear engineering. Both have been pretty useless. Part of that is my fault because I have social anxiety and get nervous in interviews. Also there are too few jobs in nuclear and too much competition.

Anyway I am thinking of doing another masters in GIS and hydrography since it will be much easier to get a job.

I'm debating if I should remove my other MSc from my cv or just go with the flow and tell interviewers it didn't work out.
Welshvisitor
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
No. You’ll need to explain the missing year somehow. Having the ambition to do another masters makes you look good because it evidences your desire to work hard and work towards your goals. Good luck 😉
PhoenixFortune
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by beefboss)
Thoughts on this?

I have a 1st class degree in physics and an MSc in nuclear engineering. Both have been pretty useless. Part of that is my fault because I have social anxiety and get nervous in interviews. Also there are too few jobs in nuclear and too much competition.

Anyway I am thinking of doing another masters in GIS and hydrography since it will be much easier to get a job.

I'm debating if I should remove my other MSc from my cv or just go with the flow and tell interviewers it didn't work out.
If you believe your main problem is getting nervous at interviews, then it's very unlikely that a second master's degree would help with that. If you remove your previous MSc from your CV (I don't know why that would be a good idea), then you'd need to explain what you were doing in that year if asked - lying is not worth it.
threeportdrift
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by beefboss)
Thoughts on this?