dancer5678
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I am currently studying maths, further maths, economics and chemistry. I am already struggling with the workload. I feel like I should drop a subject as I would probably do better in 3 than if I spread myself over 4, but have read that some unis only accepted further maths as a fourth a level. However, I am finding the maths quite challenging and am not even sure if I want to do just a maths degree at uni, or if I want to do something else.

I also do dance outside of school for three nights a week.

I am hoping to go on to university to do a maths / Economics / finance etc related degree.

Should I:
- drop the further maths
-or drop the chemistry or economics - the reason I am worried about dropping one of these is in case unis view the maths and further maths together instead of separately
-try and push through with the four

Thanks in advance
Last edited by dancer5678; 4 weeks ago
vicvic38
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
My advice would be to decide if you wish to do a maths degree, or a Economics/Finance/Accountancy course.

If you want to do maths, having Further Maths is a must.

If you don't, it's not.

I think that would be a pretty good barometer. I've just completed my first year of a maths degree, so if you want to ask me anything to get a feel for it (as it is not too much like A level Maths or FM) then feel free.
cheesecakelove
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by dancer5678)
I am currently studying maths, further maths, economics and chemistry. I am already struggling with the workload. I feel like I should drop a subject as I would probably do better in 3 than if I spread myself over 4, but have read that some unis only accepted further maths as a fourth a level. However, I am finding the maths quite challenging and am not even sure if I want to do just a maths degree at uni, or if I want to do something else.