Thinking about Uni

Watch this thread
JohnathonAB
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
Hey everyone, I am studying engineering at college and am in my first year, and want to go to university afterwards, however I need some help. I want to study abroad, so is there anyone who has done this and how did you do it? What are the things you wish you had known before studying abroad?
And
What uni’s are best (in the UK) for being able to do a swap year and study in the USA for a year
mnot
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by JohnathonAB)
Hey everyone, I am studying engineering at college and am in my first year, and want to go to university afterwards, however I need some help. I want to study abroad, so is there anyone who has done this and how did you do it? What are the things you wish you had known before studying abroad?
And
What uni’s are best (in the UK) for being able to do a swap year and study in the USA for a year
When you say you are studying engineering at college does this mean BTEC?

Study abroad is offered at almost all big UK unis but normally requires you to do an extra year in engineering as the core program is non-negotiable for accreditation so a BEng would be 4 years and an MEng 5 years. Also more people do a placement year, as it is better for their resume, but year abroad is very possible. You will have to look at every uni individually to see potential destinations maybe call/email if you can't find out online the partner institutes they offer.