sarahxislam
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello
I was wondering if I can get some help/ideas. I’m in my final year of nursing studies and need to write up a 5,000 dissertation. Really unsure what I’m actually interested but I want to do something about improving an aspect in practice? All ideas are welcome!
Charlotte's Web
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by sarahxislam)
Hello
I was wondering if I can get some help/ideas. I’m in my final year of nursing studies and need to write up a 5,000 dissertation. Really unsure what I’m actually interested but I want to do something about improving an aspect in practice? All ideas are welcome!
It's not really worth taking another person's idea as it generally won't be an area you have a particular interest in, which will really show when it comes to writing your dissertation. Choosing a topic takes quite a bit of planning but is worthwhile as you'll really have thought about it before starting.

I'd recommend making a big mind map of all of your placements so far. Some things to include:

• Think about areas of practice that stand out to you (either good or bad). Did you see any great care or new/novel ideas? Did you see any areas where you felt improvement was needed?
  • Consider patients who stick in your mind - what was their condition? What was their treatment plan? What went well for them? What could have been done better?
  • Are there any particular diseases you took an interest in? Think about any case studies you might have completed or diseases which interested you in other assignments. While you can't reuse old work, you will have a good baseline knowledge and may have something you can build upon.