The Student Room Group

I don’t know what to do

So for my boyfriend’s 20th birthday I took a lot of time and effort to pay for and plan a trip to Amsterdam which I put a lot of time and money in to.
Next month is my 21st birthday which is a big birthday. I’ve been saying I would like to go on holiday for the past 3/4 months. I’ve asked over and over again whether we can look at where we want to go etc. When I am looking at hotels and stuff he didn’t seem interested. Now that we’ve discussed it and decided that we are going to do a weekend away together due to financial reasons, I’ve asked over and over again where he would like to go and what type of activities he’d like to do whilst we’re away.
I’m not a person who likes to be the centre of attention, but is asking for a bit of effort from my boyfriend too much to ask for? It’s my 21st birthday and I’ve been so excited but I just don’t feel like he’s bothered and I put in soooo much effort for his birthday.
Maybe it’s my fault for being a bit of a pushover but I’m just wondering what people think because I feel so disappointed and upset about all this - it’s really annoyed me.

Thanks guys
I’m not clear about something: you’re asking him what he wants to do and the type of things he likes for your 21 st or for his 20th?
Maybe wait and see what he does first.

Your birthday hasn't actually happened yet.. there is still the chance that he has done what you want, and is keeping it a secret, or that he hasn't yet, but is a bit last minute and will book it within the month, or that he has something different but equally special planned.

Or maybe he ends up doing nothing special... if that happens, sure be pissed off at him, I would be. But its not healthy to be pissed off at someone for something they haven't even done yet. He hasn't disapointed you... yet.