I'm not sure I'm at the right university Watch

amyra1409
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
(Sorry it’s long!)

So I’ve just finished my second week at university (Fresher’s Week and the first week of lectures) and I’m not sure how I feel.

My accommodation is really nice, my flatmates are lovely and I have no problem with the course I’m studying (I know it’s early but I’m studying French and Italian - both of which I did at A-Level so it’s just slightly more advanced than what I did at college) but I just don’t know what to think of the whole situation.

I did my A-Levels at sixth form college; I spent 3 years there (as I repeated a year) and it was a very large college - nearly 5000 students. The campus was quite large but was really nice - it was a 10 minute walk from the station and a 20 minute walk from the city centre. I travelled there each day by bus and then train (approximately 1-1.5 hours each way). As it was college I was free to come and go whenever I had a lesson/had a free - just like university. My college was in a small (but very nice) city and it’s often compared to the city where my university is.

The issue is that I now live on campus, in a campus university although it’s not quite as isolated as some campus universities. I’ve always lived in a semi-rural, small town (no shops!) and have always assumed that I’d find universities in the centre of large cities too much. But I now feel somewhat trapped and like I’ve regressed: I’ve gone from ‘commuting’ to college each day, to now living and studying in the same place. I do understand that all universities will feel like that to some extent in the first year.