The Student Room Group

Got my degree but can’t find a job

I just graduated with a 2:1 bachelors degree in Education in July. Applied for a teacher training course but was on the reserve list as I applied a bit late and they never contacted me. Since the beginning of September I’ve been applying for jobs and have had no luck. I applied for a teaching assistant job but after interviewing us all, the school decided to withdraw the role as “none of us were suitable” (which is bs). I’ve sent my CV to local primary schools but with the cuts to funding nobody will hire me. I’ve applied for retail jobs as I have some retail experience but again no luck. I’ve tried admin jobs because my degree is supposed to be useful for those roles but because I don’t have experience I haven’t had any luck there either. I’m now desperate for money and feel like I’ve wasted my time on this degree because it’s not getting my anywhere. The only experience I have is in primary schools and I have some retail experience from a Christmas job but there are just no jobs going that are suitable for me. I feel like such a failure and being unemployed and having nothing to do is really getting me down:/
OK, first off, you're not a failure. You're actually at an exciting turning point although I can appreciate it might be difficult to see it like that right now. Secondly, I'll PM you. Maybe I can help. :smile:
Only July ! Others wait far longer.
Reply 3
Join the club.
Original post by Sophiej123