PhD Politics Oxbridge with MSc Merit

Watch
Andreeea97
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi all,

To briefly explain my situation - I'm bit anxious regarding the chances to get in at Oxbridge with fundings having achieved a Merit in my MSc (I'm quite sure that it is a common situation).

I've graduated with a fairly high first class from my undergraduate (non-RG, UK uni) and a high first in my dissertation as well (the highest grade in the department for that year).

After that, I completed an MSc at the LSE in Political Science with merit (GPA is enough to get a distinction but I've missed the distinction as in 1 half-unit course I've got a 68 - instead of the 70 which is required to achieve the overall distinction). I have also achieved a distinction in my dissertation - which should be a positive factor for PhD applications.

For the requirements, I have 2 reference letters. I'm quite sure the 1 will be strong, whereas the second one should be fine (I need to choose that professor as i) great name for the field I want to study; ii) it's my supervisor and course leader).

My CV is decent, I've completed a summer internship at an Embassy, and 6 months of internship at a boutique consulting-research firm active in the field of policy making.

Does anyone have any idea or friend that was in the same situation - considering that I manage to provide a great but not ground-breaking proposal - and has a better understanding of my odds to get admitted WITH fundings to a PhD at either Oxford or Cambridge?
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Andreeea97)