therealFelixS
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
So I'm an international student and have started year 12 studying history, english lit and politics. I'm considering studying law in the future. I would like to go to a uni like UCL, KCL, Nottingham, Bristol or Manchester. My only problem is that my gcses were bad and lower than predicted. I got 5 in maths, 5-4 in science, 8 in history, 7s in english lit, french and spanish, 6s in geography and english lang, and a D in computing. I was wondering if those universities and other similar RG ones would still accept me with quite bad results and a fail in computing even if it's not too relevant to law? Also might it affect my prospects when applying to a law firm in the future?
Euphoria101
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Some unis have GCSE requirements, I'm certain UCL for example require a 6 in Maths/English at GCSE.
harrysbar
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by therealFelixS)
So I'm an international student and have started year 12 studying history, english lit and politics. I'm considering studying law in the future. I would like to go to a uni like UCL, KCL, Nottingham, Bristol or Manchester. My only problem is that my gcses were bad and lower than predicted. I got 5 in maths, 5-4 in science, 8 in history, 7s in english lit, french and spanish, 6s in geography and english lang, and a D in computing. I was wondering if those universities and other similar RG ones would still accept me with quite bad results and a fail in computing even if it's not too relevant to law? Also might it affect my prospects when applying to a law firm in the future?
Your GCSEs aren't too bad. Of the unis you have listed, I think the 5 in maths will only be a problem for UCL and even then you're International, so worth checking with their Admissions. You will still get RG offers if your predicted A level grades are good enough and no one will care about the D in computing.