katieantonia
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hey guys, oxford applicant here. The deadline this year is 15 Oct, and honestly I still haven't decided on a college.

I'm thinking Jesus, Somerset or St Katherine's but that isn't exhaustive.

I am a state school student and would be looking for a college with a large state school uptake. I'm from Northern Ireland and am applying for Modern Languages. I don't care all that much about University Challenge prowess or bars - what is important is that my college is small, central and preferably old.

Any suggestions?
Scotney
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by katieantonia)
Hey guys, oxford applicant here. The deadline this year is 15 Oct, and honestly I still haven't decided on a college.

I am a state school student and would be looking for a college with a large state school uptake. I'm from Northern Ireland and am applying for Modern Languages. I don't care all that much about University Challenge prowess or bars - what is important is that my college is small, central and preferably old.

Any suggestions?
Corpus Christie small and old. Good article on this in Telegraph this week. Hertford old small and central, high State School intake very left leaning. Bit rundown but cosy. Somerville not Somerset by the way. Also St Catz not Katherines.. Have a look at Tsr's alternative prospective for Oxford Colleges and also The Oxford University Alternative prospectus. Balliol might also fit the bill. Wadham slightly larger but very diverse central and built in 1601.
Ghostlady
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Old and large state school uptake is Mansfield College. they take a large percentage of state school, but would also pick somerville as a good choice. Did enjoy looking round there and had accommodation for all 4 years,
BrasenoseAdm
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by katieantonia)

Any suggestions?
Hola katieantonia,