Progressing after qualifying as a dental nurse??? Watch

gracej997
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Hi there, I'm currently studying to complete my diploma in dental nursing. I'm really enjoying it and loving the course. My question is where can i progress to from dental nursing, I've looked into dental therapy or dental hygiene and both of them peak my interest but i'm unsure whether i would need another qualifications along side this to even apply to uni?
A lady i work with has qualified as a hygienist after 12 years as a nurse so i know it's doable.
So has anyone else looked into this, or done it or in the middle of it? Some advice on what qualifications i would need to go on to do dental therapy or hygiene, and also is there anybody out there that has gone onto another career path entirely from dental nursing?

Sorry it's so long winded but hopefully there's someone out there i can get advice from

Thanks!
Grace
L4ur41996
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Hiya! I’m a dental nurse and I’m currently in the process of applying for hygiene and therapy!
So different unis want different things;
Essex is happy to take a dental nurse with just that qual + 2 years experience
Some like Sheffield will accept dental nursing + 2 post reg qualifications eg OHE or radiography
All will accept alevels (grades will vary) but will definitely want a science prefs biology!
Or you could do an access to HE in science which is what I’m doing!
Feel free to PM if you have any questions or anything
returnmigrant
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Bristol wants A level Biology - or an Access to HE qualification : http://www.bristol.ac.uk/study/under...e-and-therapy/
lucyluh
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
(Original post by gracej997)