How do I sort out this situation? Watch

1235louise77
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I have recently moved into a student house,with three other people but I am starting to have an issue with one of my housemates partners.

He practically lives at the house and is not contributing to any utilities or rent whatsoever.This is starting to annoy me and as a student I really don’t want to be paying for another persons bills or rent.He has shown no consideration towards the house and works full time so can easily contribute.I have spoken to my other housemate about it but not the others.If this carries on and he is refusing to pay then I am going to consider dropping out of my house,although this will not be fair on me.

Does anyone know how to sort this out,so I can feel comfortable living in the household?

Thanks
CTLeafez
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
If your housemate signed a contract to pay X amount of rent then he’s contractually obliged to pay it.

Regarding utility bills, you could have a word with your landlord to “have a word” with them about their responsibilities as a tenant.

On a side note, if they’re working full time, why are they living in a student house? You’ll be getting charged council tax!
1235louise77
Rep:
?
Hi,

Sorry for the misunderstanding but his girlfriend my housemate is a student.

Thank you for your advice,I may contact the landlord but I do not want to cause any quarrels as I have to live with them.Although,your advice about the landlord could be a good start for me as I can possible sort this situation out.

I really don’t want this situation effecting me as I am in my second year of uni and do not need this stress so if we don’t come to an agreement I may just leave.
doodle_333
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
firstly get leaving out of your head it's very unlikely you can get out of your contract