Is it possible to get a job in data science without being able to code Watch

Trackstar
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
I’m interested In a job in data science but I only have very basic coding knowledge. Are there any jobs where you can join with no experience and be trained. I’m in my third year of a maths degree.
cheesecakelove
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by Trackstar)
I’m interested In a job in data science but I only have very basic coding knowledge. Are there any jobs where you can join with no experience and be trained. I’m in my third year of a maths degree.
It is always worth trying to gain work experience or trying to brush up on your coding skills during your studies to make your application stand out and to show that you have an genuine interest in this field. There may be jobs which require little experience but they are limited and may have a lot of competition.
Gatewaymerge
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
The thing is, unis don't teach you how to code. There is no data science without python and ML knowledge. I'd recommend learning some python and sql
Princepieman
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
this is like asking if it's possible to cook without cooking..
Trackstar
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Princepieman)
this is like asking if it's possible to cook without cooking..
Insightful, Thank you.
mhsc
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
You could get a job as a data analyst but not data science I'm afraid. At the right company you might have a chance to learn coding slowly over time and move into DS eventually.
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago