The Student Room Group

Faced with a difficult decision...Help!

Hi,

I am a current LLB student at London Metropolitan, where I studied since February...As it turns out, I just received my results and they are as follows:
Criminal Law 82%
Contract Law 70%
English Legal System 71%

Not so long ago I had my mind made up on quiting london met and studying for a legal method certificate at Birkbeck, which is accepted by the likes of UCL and Oxford, in order to enter a higher regarded university...

I got accepted by Birkbeck, however, after getting my uni results, my heart is braking at the thought of leaving after committing so much hard work throughout the year and managing to get such great results (i have been out of education since the age of 16, and am currently 22)

Leaving London Met would mean wasting another half year and entering university at the age of 23, however, I have a high chance of getting accepted by a better uni...However, if I stay at london met, I will graduate a year earlier...but what would be my prospects, even if with a 1st???

What would you do???Any encouraging words would help...Bring me back to reality!!!:smile:

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
I am an American who has yet to see the English law scene, but from my experience in the U.S. you should finish London Met and get the 1st. A 1st is a 1st. Get that 1st and then go on for an LLM somewhere more reknown. You will save a year, save money, and people will look at the LLM earned at UCL or Oxford more than the LLB awarding university. It only seems logical to me that if you can pull off an LLM from Oxford, your past before that is irrelevant.

Also, university like Oxford and UCL take into account the grade you acheived at your previous university right? So, wouldn't it be better to get a 1st from London Met than a 2:1 from Birkbeck?
Hate to say it but I disagree.....

First of all well done on the amazing results - you must be so proud, to get those grades in law is phenomenal!