DigitalHamim
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm a year eleven student.

I can pick three, or four, A-levels depending on what college I choose to enroll.

My strongest four subjects are (In chronological order):
Geography
English Literature
Business Studies
Biology

Some of the advice given to me was "Choose your strongest subjects". But I'm not relatively keen on Biology, and the fence with Business Studies

Some of the A levels I'm interested in taking are:
Economics.
Business Studies.
English Literature and/or Language.
Sociology.
Law.

I've gathered opinions from a careers adviser, subject teachers, and you rosey bunch. So far I've got this.

Economics & Business Studies
I'm mostly afraid of overlap if I do both. I've heard teachers who have done both who say nothing but for me, it's a big deal. I'm currently doing a level two BTEC qualification for Business. I'm interested in taking A-level business but I'm unsure of the BTEC option. I don't fancy re-learning stuff from secondary school.

Economics has always interested me. It's something that I find intriguing. But this is heavily math orientated. Math isn't one of my strongest subjects but my target is a 7, and I'm currently on a 6-. Is math a large part of the A-level? Does this A-level demand a lot out of students? It's an AQA exam board. Are they nice? etc.

English Literature & Language
For me, poetry is one of the main reasons why I love literature in the first place. It's something that I do enjoy. My English teacher advised me that A-level English Literature gives you a broader perspective on texts, it gives you the freedom to analyse your texts, etc.

English Language is where I'm stuck at really. I've heard that it's different, and it's not all boring 10 mark questions on writer's methods. For the people who have taken this A-level, what sort of qualities would you say are best suited to do well in this A-level? Is it demanding, how is the AQA exam board like?

Sociology & Law.