monkeybananas
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 weeks ago
Hello all,

I'm an American student who just fired off my apps to LSE & Oxford. When I add the A-level equivalents of the AP classes I've taken into UCAS's Offer Rate Calculator, I get pretty optimistic results. However, I don't know if it's fair to equate APs to A levels. I've heard that A levels are tougher than APs.

I've taken 9 APs so far and scored 5s on them. I can go into further detail if that would be helpful, but I would really like to know if my performance would be considered similar to that of a student who scored , say, an A* A A.

Thanks!
vikomen
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Hello, it depends for which course you are applying for. The problem with UK universities for non-Europeans is that they have a limit amount of places for international students resulting in Americans, Canadians, Chinese and Australians compeating for the same spots. Also, Oxford don't tend to interview as often so it is purely going to be based on your personal statement & admission exam (if you have to take one). Do not worry about the grades but put your focus on your personal statement & admittion exams.
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
(Original post by vikomen)
Hello, it depends for which course you are applying for. The problem with UK universities for non-Europeans is that they have a limit amount of places for international students resulting in Americans, Canadians, Chinese and Australians compeating for the same spots. Also, Oxford don't tend to interview as often so it is purely going to be based on your personal statement & admission exam (if you have to take one). Do not worry about the grades but put your focus on your personal statement & admittion exams.