bethanycook
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 months ago
Im in my final A level year and currently doing graphic design at A level, and have been set on doing graphic design at uni for a while. However after looking at animation courses it looks a lot more interesting to me , more like something I want to do, however I have no experience in animation. The type of animation I am interested in is the sort you see in Disney, dream works, etc films. So I have a few questions that I hope somebody could answer for me, and give me advice on.
Do I need an A-level in maths for a computer/digital animation degree?
Would I be accepted to an animation course if I only have experience in graphic design?
Should I do a foundation art and design course first to gain some experience in animation?
Is computer animation still an art/design based subject or is it more technology & maths based?
Plymouth College Of Art
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
Hi Bethany,

Your own suggestion of completing a Pre-Degree Course is actually a really great idea and something I did myself. I completed a UAL Foundation Diploma in Art and Design before my degree, and it helped me to decide between Fine Art and Photography. I think that the course really helped to prepare me for my degree, as it helped me to be more experimental as well as developed my critical writing, which is a really key part of creative subjects. It also really helped when applying for universities, because I had developed a great portfolio of work from the course, and universities like to see that you've completed a course like it, as it shows you've really developed key skills needed for a degree course.

In terms of Undergraduate courses, though, I'd recommend having a look at the kind of courses you'd be interested in studying, as universities should specify their course requirements on the course page online or in their prospectus.