Is Maths, F. Maths, Bio and Chem a good combination? Watch

SunnyLim
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Alright so I'm taking A-Levels next year and I have interests for medicine, data science and computer science. To keep my options open, I'm planning to take Maths, F. Maths, Bio and Chem. I'll probably drop either FM or Bio once I make up my mind. Is this combination good? I'm a slightly above average student who can handle slightly above average workloads. I really like Biology and have a strong interest in medicine but I'm attracted to the job prospects of data science, although I don't know what data scientists really do exactly. The reason why I don't take physics is because I have no interest for it. I can study for it and score, but I just find it boring. Is it okay to not take physics before entering the data science or computer science field?
cath_slater
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
That’s a really good combination considering you’re not 100% sure on what to do at the end of it. You’ll probably find that most people who do comp sci will do physics as that’s the go to option as well as maths
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
It's a reasonable combination, although FM is pretty much pointless for medicine, and generally less relevant for biological sciences than physical sciences. However more mathematical background, preparation, and maturity is always good to have going into the sciences! Starting off with FM then is not necessarily a bad option.