The Student Room Group

Business Managment worth it?

I was thinking about what to do next year and was thinking about doing business Managment but according to people, the chances of getting a good job with a degree in Business Managment are low. Is the degree worth anything?
Reply 1
I think it depends o a lot of things like experience, which uni you go to, your aims, how good you are at interview etc etc
Original post by Theking997
I was thinking about what to do next year and was thinking about doing business Managment but according to people, the chances of getting a good job with a degree in Business Managment are low. Is the degree worth anything?

Hey,

I'm a final year Management student at the University of Bath and had exactly the same worry when I was applying for uni! Hopefully I can offer my perspective as I found the degree can lead to really good jobs! :smile:

The course at Bath has been really broad and I know that whatever career I choose, something will be relevant because we have covered so many topics that affect all businesses. Basically, it won’t ever be a degree where you can’t apply at least some of it!

Also, when I was applying for placements, I found lots of companies asked for a business-related degree. Sometimes they did open the scheme to all disciplines which does mean that the job market for roles in business is very competitive, but I found Bath were really helpful in guiding us through the process to stand out. I had help with my CV, cover letters, a mock interview etc. and there were lots of opportunities to meet well-known employers (and start-ups too) on campus such Accenture, Loreal, PwC, Mars, Unilever, Disney, Morgan Stanley etc. to find out more about the company and recruitment process.