sr1988
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Good Afternoon
I have an interview coming up in a few weeks. Part of the interview is to give a mini lesson which can last no longer than 10 minutes. The topic is describing the science behind an everyday object (biology Related).

I am really stuck on choosing a topic which is interesting and how much depth you have to go into. I have to choose either to give this to a KS3 level or KS4. I keep over complicating with the science, but i get a feeling they will be looking for good communication and interaction with a group

Any advise would be really appreciated
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
Hey- I'm now a biology teacher, but I was in your place about 2 years ago!

My uni tutor told me (long after my interview), the main thing they are looking for in the teaching task is to be able to picture you standing up in front of a class, engaging them and keeping their attention. I would choose an object you can link to something you're passionate about- e.g. if ecology is your favourite part of biology, choose something gardening related or something you can link to the outdoors, whereas if you're a keen microbiologist, take in something like anti-bacterial soap!

I honestly think the topic isn't super important, although if you can link it to the KS4 curriculum, that will probably get you bonus points. However, I think these tasks are more about showing your existing presentation skills, and how you communicate, rather than the precise content of your presentation!

10 minutes is relatively long for these things, so maybe think about how you can engage your audience during the mini lesson as well.
Angelholic
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by sr1988)
Good Afternoon
I have an interview coming up in a few weeks. Part of the interview is to give a mini lesson which can last no longer than 10 minutes. The topic is describing the science behind an everyday object (biology Related).