ughfetjgero
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi there!I'm hoping to apply for pgde primary but I'm worried my chances are pretty slim for getting in

I meet all the academic requirements and have a 2:1 in psychology. I've volunteered at brownies since September last year but I've only just managed to secure some primary school experience as I've worked full time since leaving uni. I start next week so by around January the application deadline I should have around 50 or so hours (8 days) but I'm worried this isn't enough.

I've had some other experience in the past but it's been secondary school (I taught English in India for a year to 16 year old, I was a classroom assistant 3 days a week in high school, and I was a learning support assistant 1 day a week in high school. Bearing in mind this was 7 years ago!)

Primary teaching is something I've only recently realised I wanted to do through volunteering with the brownies, but I'm worried my limited experience will set me back. Can anyone shed light on whether this is the case, or do I have a chance if I have a really good personal statement and reflect on my experience properly?

Would love to hear people's thoughts!

Thanks
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
First of all, teaching applications are done on a rolling basis- if you're applying for a post-grad course, the January deadline doesn't apply to you!

8 days of experience + brownies will probably be enough- there will be people who don't apply with that much experience. However, it sounds like you are picking up experience a few hours at a time, which doesn't give you as much insight into what the day to day life of a primary teacher is like. Is there any change of you taking some annual leave from work and shadowing a primary teacher for a day or two?