hriii
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm in my 2nd year of Alevel and I want to do medicine but my school has predicted me CCC so I can't apply. So, I'm hoping I can get the actual grades and go in through adjustment. Has anyone gone to medicine through adjustment and what unis do adjustment
returnmigrant
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Last year (and this doesnt predict what will happen next August) there were a handful of Med Schools accepting Clearing applications from those with good grades. St Georges (London) and Sunderland, and I think there were a couple of others.

Medicine always interviews - and the competition for these interviews are as you would expect, fiercely competitive. So do not rely on this for a place even if you do get the grades.

Most other Unis have a 'reserve list' - people they interviewed but just missed the cut for an offer (but who are now not holding a Medicine offer anywhere) - to back-fill spaces in August. They dont want to be messing about with interviews in August.

A better tactic will always be to work your pants off for the best possible grades you can get (and dont apply for anything this year - its just distracting) and then apply with known grades next September. And if you dont make the high grades, have a look at Foundation courses - and Gateway programs if you meet the criteria - you could apply for these with lower achieved grades.
hriii
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
(Original post by returnmigrant)
Last year (and this doesnt predict what will happen next August) there were a handful of Med Schools accepting Clearing applications from those with good grades. St Georges (London) and Sunderland, and I think there were a couple of others.

Medicine always interviews - and the competition for these interviews are as you would expect, fiercely competitive. So do not rely on this for a place even if you do get the grades.