potentialsurgeon
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hello, I am a year 12 student, studying A-level Chemistry, Biology, and Physics. I have started this discussion because I need some help. In the future (preferably after university) I would like to emigrate to the states to become a neurosurgery resident.

I have looked online for steps or for information on how to do this, but many of the articles that I have read don't explain things well or are really confusing. I was wondering if anyone here could maybe give me some advice?
ecolier
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by potentialsurgeon)
... In the future (preferably after university) I would like to emigrate to the states to become a neurosurgery resident....
My advice is always study where you want to work.

Study Medicine in the US is expensive and (potentially) complicated - Medicine there is a post-graduate course; which means you have to do bachelor's degree first.

You can study here and then move to the US to practise - but you'll have to take the USMLE. There are plenty of threads on TSR about that. The long and short of it? It's not easy at all. And you'll need a really, really good score to train in neurosurgery in the US.

The US is not that accepting of international medical graduates - hence my point: study where you want to work. They have lots of IMGs, but they usually end up working in the not-so-competitive specialties like Family Medicine. I suppose you can always try to be the exception, if you work really hard.

Finally, you are way, way too early to think about a specialty.
Last edited by ecolier; 1 year ago
potentialsurgeon
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
(Original post by ecolier)
My advice is always study where you want to work.

Study Medicine in the US is expensive and (potentially) complicated - Medicine there is a post-graduate course; which means you have to do bachelor's degree first.