Can you help me with the obiter dictum and ratio decidendi of R v R 1991?

Watch
satanyogi
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm really struggling with this lol

The Obiter Dictum and Ratio Decidendi of the case R v R 1991 (rape inside marriage)

any help appreciated thanks!
Patricia 0w0
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by satanyogi)
I'm really struggling with this lol

The Obiter Dictum and Ratio Decidendi of the case R v R 1991 (rape inside marriage)

any help appreciated thanks!
Hi, I am a law student in year 13.

Obiter Dicta: something mentioned by the judge "by the way" (not necessarily related to the case). This is not binding, but could be used as a persuasive precedent (judges in later cases can still choose to follow it).

Ratio Decidendi: The decision made in the case. This is binding and must be followed in later cases.

In R v R, the ratio would be like this: a man who rapes his wife could be convicted......
The obiter dicta of this case will be other things mentioned by Lord Keith, such as : "...Apart from property matters and the availability of matrimonial remedies, one of the most important changes is that marriage is in modern times regarded as a partnership of equals, and no longer one in which the wife must be the subservient chattel of the husband..." (Source: http://www.e-lawresources.co.uk/R-v-R-[1991].php).

Not sure whether this helps. Hope it makes sense.

If what you are not sure about is what obiter dicta and ratio decidendi mean, Donoghue v Stevenson would be the one can present the ideas better.
Ratio: the manufacturer must be responsible to its ultimate customers.
Obiter: the Neighbour Principle (not binding but still followed in lots of later cases)
satanyogi
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
(Original post by Patricia 0w0)
Hi, I am a law student in year 13.