leahbedwin
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago

Welcome!
About Me
Hey everyone! I'm a little late to the GYG party but have been completely procrastinating over the past week and not doing any coursework or revision at work, but instead obsessing over everyone else's blogs and religiously checking Track every 5 minutes, so thought I'd create my own blog to keep me motivated and actually do some work! I've been a member of TSR for years but have recently started using it all the time as an excuse to not work, so the new aim is to use it to actually help me work like it's meant to.

What subjects do I study?
I'm a Year 13 student studying A-Level Economics, Maths & Computer Science. I'm also currently undertaking an EPQ to do with the subject I want to do at university.
Spoiler:
Show

Economics (AQA)
- Paper 1: Markets and market failure (Micro)
- Paper 2: National and international economy (Macro)
- Paper 3: Economic principles and issues (Micro & Macro)
(A* = 80%, A = 68%, B = 58%)

Maths (AQA)
- Paper 1: Pure maths
- Paper 2: Pure & mechanics
- Paper 3: Pure & statistics
(A* = 77%, A = 62%, B = 50%)

Computer Science (OCR)
- Paper 1: Computer systems (40%)
- Paper 2: Algorithms and programming (40%)
- Coursework (20%)
(A* = 81%, A = 71%, B = 60%)

Academic Record
UCAS Predictions
I'm predicted A*AA (A* in Economics) and hoping for an A in my EPQ.
Spoiler:
Show

End of Year 12 results
Economics (A)
Maths (C - B in retake)
Computer Science (B)

GCSE
Maths - 9
Religious Studies - 9
Biology - 9
Chemistry - 9
Physics - 8
Computer Science - 8
Geography - 8
History - 8
Spanish - 8
English Language - 7
English Literature - 6
Further Maths - A

University Choices
I'll leave below my UCAS choices and preferences, as I've already actually received 3 offers out of the 5 I've applied to.
Spoiler:
Show

University of Birmingham / Policy, Politics & Economics / L990 - still waiting on a response
University of Bristol / Social Policy / L400 - offer of ABB