Hair dye and cancer? Watch

Jillie Boe
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
Right, my hair is blonde and I've been dying it with permanent superdrug hair dye for the past 2 years. I dye it every month.

I got sent a link by my friend, a bbc link from 2002 that said that dark permanent hair dyes caused cancer cos of all the chemicals. Does anyone know how true that claim is? cos the article was 6 years old so I figured if it was it would be in the news more?

I really don't want to stop dying my hair cos I detest my real hair colour and love my dyed hair colour. I was thinking about stopping buying the superdrug one cos that's quite heavily chemicaled(sp?) and maybe go to a garnier one or something?

How many people dye their hair on here?

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum, I didn't know whether to put it here on in fashion
dh00001
Report 10 years ago
its a claim but apparently your mobile gives you cancer, but you still carry that right?
Ilora-Danon
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
I've dyed my hair black for the past 5 years and I'm in perfect health.

All I can say is that, everything gives you cancer. There's no point worrying about it. Last week it was bacon, this week it'll be something else. God knows what it'll be next week. I wouldn't worry about it. They wouldn't be able to license them in the UK/Europe if they were so damaging to our health. (Plus, all hairdressers would be walking around with cancer, wouldn't they )
Aemiliana
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
It seems everything causes cancer these days. I even heard of suncream causing it (You're stuffed if you do and stuffed if you don't). However, I stopped dyeing my hair about 3 years ago because of all the chemicals and learning to appreciate my natural colour.

If you want to still colour your hair and are worried about the chemicals, go to a health food store; most seem to stock natural hair dyes (wierd I know!)
generalebriety
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago