how does priestley use language and structure to evoke change in act 3?

Watch this thread
milkteabooty
Badges: 2
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
(an inspector calls) i need some tips on what to write about. thanks
Last edited by milkteabooty; 2 years ago
EpicChefUK
Badges: 11
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 2 years ago
It's been a while since I studied An Inspector Calls... But perhaps it's worth noting the change in attitudes each character has after Inspector Goole exposes their case.
Davy611
Badges: 12
Rep:
Report 2 years ago
'Evoke' seems a strange word to use. Was this the question?

I agree with the above post: Birling and his wife don't demonstrate the capacity or desire for change unless they're forced to due to the impact upon their status and reputation. Sheila does want to change; she's 'learned' from the experience. Eric appears to want to change but I don't find his behaviour credible; everything he's done prior to this has been so motivated by entitlement and arrogance that I think he'll swiftly revert back to type. This isn't necessarily an opinion held by all. Gerald's too much a part of the establishment. He won't change either.

Both Eric and Gerald will be 'taught' their lesson in 'blood and fire and anguish'. World War 1.
EpicChefUK
Badges: 11
Rep:
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Davy611)
'Evoke' seems a strange word to use. Was this the question?