Russian for beginners at Oxford Watch

*~Joiedevivre~*
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 10 years ago
Hello!

I was wondering if some of the people studying the russian for beginners course at Oxford could help me with a few questions.

I've read that the year abroad for Russian is in the second year - does this mean that you don't get to spend any time in the country for the other language you are studying, such as if you combine french and russian? And do you think it is better to have the year abroad in the second year rather than the third year or does it seem too early?

Also, are you enjoying the russian course? I am definitely interested in learning Russian and about the country and everything but I'm still a bit unsure!

Thanks for your help,

joiedevivre
Yttrium
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 10 years ago
Hey there!

I'm a russian ab initio student (with German) going into my fourth year. I love hearing from potential applicants so do feel free to PM me with more detailed questions if you've got any.

The year abroad is indeed spent in the second year - you go away for 8 months, from October to June, but that leaves the summer vacation (14 weeks) before and the summer vacation afterwards, some or all of which you can spend in the country where your other language is spoken. While that won't be enough time to do certain year abroad activities (e.g. becoming an assistant(e) in a school) it's more than enough time to get a little job, go on a language course, or just spend some time in the foreign country.