The Student Room Group
City-centre campus surrounded by parks
Solent University
Southampton

Can you make a living from YouTube?

YouTube will be 15 years old next February. What started out as a place for cat videos and tutorials on how to fix your kitchen sink has become a multi-billion-pound industry. Becoming a ‘YouTuber’ is the top career aspiration by school-aged children according to recent surveys; not an astronaut, doctor or teacher! It seems that a whole generation may have online video aspirations but can you make a living from YouTube? Is it as easy as your favourite vloggers make out? What skills and personal qualities do you need to make it? Will university help or hinder your career chances? Let’s discuss!!

My name is David Reilly and I’m a Senior Lecturer in Journalism at Solent University in Southampton. I have worked at ITV News for nearly two decades but I recently started researching YouTube by creating a channel which earned two national awards and over a million views.

Scroll to see replies

You can, but it's extremely difficult. I've had a channel for nearly 2 years and I have never made a penny from it. I know of people with 300k subs who make no money. It's tough - just be a doctor.
City-centre campus surrounded by parks
Solent University
Southampton
Reply 2
personally I think u don't, u just get lucky and get really famous.....
I used to have a youtube channel for 9 years, it only collected 704 subs though and I couldn't make a single dime. Made piano videos on that channel. I've deleted it now.
Original post by Solent University Guest Lecturer