The Student Room Group
Manchester Metropolitan University
Manchester

What are my options - Drop Out, Transfer...?

Hello,

I am currently a first year student studying Fine Art in Leeds. I've found that I'm not really enjoying my course as much as I thought I would. I'm not sure what I should do. I got an unconditional offer from MMU before and really loved the uni, their fine art course, etc. I would consider studying there instead, but I'm not sure how to go about it.

I would want to be in their halls so that I can make friends, and I'm also nervous about transferring this year (let's say around December), as people will have already made friends/the accommodation will be full by that point.

Is it possible to wait this year out in Leeds, see how I get on, and then possibly reapply for MMU Fine Art first year entry as a late UCAS application for 2020 entry?

Would this even work? How would this affect my student loan? Would they accept me as a first-year entrant if I have already completed a year of uni elsewhere?

Any help is appreciated x
Original post by Betsy_Lou
Hello,

I am currently a first year student studying Fine Art in Leeds. I've found that I'm not really enjoying my course as much as I thought I would. I'm not sure what I should do. I got an unconditional offer from MMU before and really loved the uni, their fine art course, etc. I would consider studying there instead, but I'm not sure how to go about it.

I would want to be in their halls so that I can make friends, and I'm also nervous about transferring this year (let's say around December), as people will have already made friends/the accommodation will be full by that point.

Is it possible to wait this year out in Leeds, see how I get on, and then possibly reapply for MMU Fine Art first year entry as a late UCAS application for 2020 entry?