Shafiq Amin
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I’m a year 12 student. I’m currently studying biology, chemistry and geography. Hopefully, I’ll get an A*AA but my gcse grades weren’t as good
I got 2 8’s, 7 7’s , 2 L2D and 1 5 (in french) .
I would like to apply to Oxbridge to do law but is there a realistic chance of me getting in ?
I do ALOT of extra curricular such as charity work, feeding the homeless, St Jon’s ambulance, performed in the Birmingham Rep theatre. I just want an alternative opinion as I don’t think my GCSE’s are as good as other candidate and I don’t want to waste a university place on a uni I most likely will not even get into. I also come from an underprivileged background, with my school constantly having strikes, supply teachers etc.
Last edited by Shafiq Amin; 3 months ago
yankang.qi
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
Oxford, less so, but Cambridge yes. Oxford place more emphasis on GCSEs so you would need a high score on the admissions test to make up for it. So yes, you have a chance of getting into Oxbridge but it still depends on you doing well on the admissions test and at interview. If you get the predicted grades, it will be worth the shot.
Shafiq Amin
Rep:
?
(Original post by yankang.qi)
Oxford, less so, but Cambridge yes. Oxford place more emphasis on GCSEs so you would need a high score on the admissions test to make up for it. So yes, you have a chance of getting into Oxbridge but it still depends on you doing well on the admissions test and at interview. If you get the predicted grades, it will be worth the shot.
Thanks a lot for that. It’s just that going from a school like mine, and then getting into a grammar sixth form where everyone(who was there from year 7) seemed to have achieved basically all 8’s and 9’s, and want to apply to Oxbridge too, not particularly for law, but I feel like I don’t stand a chance against people like them, and I know there’s many people like them across the whole country.
harrysbar