FishFinger04
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hello, I’m in yr 11 and currently recovering from anorexia. I want to be a MFL teacher when I’m older, by the time I come to do my PGCE I’ll be fully recovered. So will my past issues affect my chances of becoming a teacher?
xozxexo
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by FishFinger04)
Hello, I’m in yr 11 and currently recovering from anorexia. I want to be a MFL teacher when I’m older, by the time I come to do my PGCE I’ll be fully recovered. So will my past issues affect my chances of becoming a teacher?
If you are mentally and physically healthy then no. It would only get in the way if you let it get in the way
FishFinger04
Rep:
?
(Original post by xozxexo)
If you are mentally and physically healthy then no. It would only get in the way if you let it get in the way
Thanks xx
ratatatat
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Thanks xx
Hiya,

I'm a third year student on a BAEd degree so, it's a little different from a PCGE but lot of the same stuff probably applies. Everyone at my Uni was required to fill in a 'fitness to teach' form. This was to outline any health issues. I had to disclose my mental illness and so was categorized as a 'type B' student teacher. This recognizes that you may need some extra support on your teaching placements, but does not stop you from becoming a teacher at all. It is up to you whether to disclose this to tour placement mentor or not. I chose not to, and so didn't receive any extra support, but it's a personal choice and you shouldn't be penalized for it. If going in to secondary education, you could even spin it as a positive. Mental health awareness is incredibly important with children/teens and you've experienced it first hand and come out of the other end! Hope this helped
FishFinger04
Rep:
?
(Original post by ratatatat)
Hiya,