fionawalker
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I'm a first-year law student and have my first moot coming up in a couple of days however I'm struggling with it. The case I have been given is regarding duty of care. A man was bought a pair of shoes by his girlfriend for his bday. He wore the shoes on a night out however a bit of wire cut his heel. He didn't notice until his gf pointed it out the next day. He went to the doctors and was told he had contracted sepsis that had caused disabling muscle and joint pains. He had to take 4 weeks off work due to his infection. Since the shoes were launched in 2017, 5 people have been injured from wearing them. He tried to sue the manufacturer for damages however the case was dismissed. He is now appealing. I am the senior respondent so I have to argue against his appeal. So far I have thought about arguing that no contract exists between him and the manufacturer as the shoes were bought by his girlfriend but Donohue v Stevenson shoots down that argument. I also considered arguing that he should have removed the shoes as soon as it started hurting cause he made it worse by not removing the shoes straight away however I'm finding it difficult to source law to back this up. I will also say that it is impossible to foresee every injury and may mention the tripartite test. Please help me with arguments, law, and also how to moot as I really have no clue!

Thank you!
Last edited by fionawalker; 1 year ago
IpsaLoquitur
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago