starmilk
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I'm a 3rd year psychology student and I'm having a massive dilemma as I'm unsure if I want to do a masters or spend a few years building experience?

I know that eventually, I would like to apply for the dclinpsy, its just a matter of when.

I've looked at masters courses and I've seen a few that I'm really interested in that also include clinical experience but i've seen some people say that it would be a waste of time and that I should be building up experience full-time instead. I was thinking that a masters would help me and as it also includes placements (and hopefully the opportunity to make one of those placements a bit more long term as the DClinpsy courses I've seen so far ask for at least a year of full time experience).

I have 1 years voluntary experience in a counselling setting, previous experience handling children and hopefully a part-time job as a support worker in the summer.

I wanted to do a masters, build up some experience with that, strengthen my application and then apply for a job as an assistant psychologist or something similar and then after a while, apply for the dclinpsy.

To be honest, I'm just not sure if this is the correct way to be looking at it.

I would really appreciate the help! x
Noodlzzz
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
I would say experience over masters. Masters are good if you need to make up for a low undergrad degree or if it's a conversion. But they are pretty much money takers and don't give you much that advantage for DCLinPsyc
Last edited by Noodlzzz; 3 months ago
Esekanayo_
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
I was in the same boat this year, I eventually chose to apply for a masters because of the following reasons:

- You build up on your research skills beyond undergrad. This is really good if you do not want to work as a research assistant, or want another opportunity to do a study that potentially gets published.