JessCawth95
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi everyone, I currently work as a finance assistant in a solicitors and its driving me insane, I think I'd like to become a game developer, but after doing some research it looks like I'd have to go to uni - I got my current job through an AAT level 2 and 3 apprenticeship, (I'm paying for the next level course) I live in York and have found a course at St John's uni, I live with my partner but I'm not sure how the finance aspect would work, we can't live where we live without both our wages, can't get any help from family, has anyone else left a job and returned to full time uni and not have it massively impact you financially? Or did anyone get a game developer job without a degree?
Fresh27
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Do it! Decisions like this are easy if you really think about it from a long-term perspective. In 10 years time would you like to be where you are today, or possibly doing something you love?

I'd look into your options for student finance & a loan. You can always get a part-time job to help. For example, I worked at Monzo and did weekend night shifts as a Customer Service Rep and earned £16,000/yr.

Also look into non-uni courses. Teach yourself through online courses, reach out to as many people as you can on linkedin and just ask to have a conversation, you never know what will happen and you literally won't lose anything from trying.

Wish you the best!
Last edited by Fresh27; 1 week ago
Vexper
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago