Inserting a tampon Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I feel rather embarrassed about asking this question but here goes.
All my period life to date I have only ever worn pads.
The time has now come for me to incorporate wearing pads with tampons.
The problem I am having is inserting the tampon, I have never used them before and I cant seem to get one in.
I have already started my period and need to get to grips with how to insert one.
Is there a posistion/ posture that makes insertion alot easier?
Please your advice / help would be most welcome.
Anonymous #2
Report 3 weeks ago
Sitting down makes it easier or like in a bent position. Basically not standing straight. Buying small ones to start with that have those things to help with inserting them. Using them when you’re actually bleeding so it’s not too dry down there. Inserting them fully so you don’t feel them while you’re walking. I recently started using them like couple months ago cos I also had problems with trying to insert them.
Anonymous #3
Report 3 weeks ago
This is a totally normal thing to feel anxious about and I have to admit that my mum was a major help.

Some people find it easiest for the first few tries lying on their back. The key is to use a tampon with a plastic inserter, relax your whole body and aim for the small of your back. Other people like to put one foot up on the toilet seat at a right angle and others (personal tactic) simply stand.
If you haven't before can I suggest using a mirror just to get to know your downstairs (odd suggestion I know!!) but this will help you manoeuvre everything. Then when it comes to it apply some pressure, might need to adjust it a few times, until your fingers are touching your skin.