sb246
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi there! I'm new to student room so forgive me if I put this in the wrong category!

I am currently in my fourth year of secondary school in Ireland but I'm considering applying to either Oxbridge or an Ivy League School. Btw I know that medicine in the US is actually a graduate course I'm passionate about medicine and in the future, I'd like to work in the country I studied in.

I'm curious about people's opinions and thoughts of the pros and cons of studying medicine in each country and also, the job opportunities after graduating. In addition, are there any major differences between the healthcare systems or the salaries in the UK and US? Would it be possible to study medicine in the UK and move to the US to practice? If you have any personal experience, please mention that as well. Much appreciated!
Last edited by sb246; 3 weeks ago
ajj2000
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by sb246)
Hi there! I'm new to student room so forgive me if I put this in the wrong category I am currently in my fourth year of secondary school in Ireland but I'm considering applying to either Oxbridge or an Ivy League School. Btw I know that medicine in the US is actually a graduate course I'm passionate about medicine and in the future, I'd like to work in the country I studied in. I was wondering if, to people's knowledge, there is stigma behind international graduates working as doctors in the US? I'm curious about people's opinions and thoughts on the length and quality of education in each country and also, the job opportunities after graduating. In addition, are there any major differences between the healthcare systems or the salaries in the UK and US? If you have a preference for studying medicine in either the UK or US or have personal experience doing so, please mention that as well. Much appreciated!