Smilesolid91
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
I’m new to the student room, so not too sure what to expect! I’ve checked out some other threads, but they don’t completely relate!

I’m in the final year of my UG degree and completing my dissertation. I’m really having a lot of trouble with my supervisor and I don’t know what to do!

I completely understand that there is only so much that they can help you with, but I just feel like I’m falling behind. I really don’t know what to do about the situation, and nor do my peers. To be fair, I don’t really think that they care.

My supervisor gives me very harsh feedback, and it has come to the point where I am totally doubting my abilities. I understand it’s there job to provide feedback. But it comes across as really aggressive and patronising. I’ve come out of meetings very upset and with terrible anxiety. I’m reluctant to ask questions because of what might be said.

Can anyone offer advice?
1st superstar
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by Smilesolid91)
I’m new to the student room, so not too sure what to expect! I’ve checked out some other threads, but they don’t completely relate!

I’m in the final year of my UG degree and completing my dissertation. I’m really having a lot of trouble with my supervisor and I don’t know what to do!

I completely understand that there is only so much that they can help you with, but I just feel like I’m falling behind. I really don’t know what to do about the situation, and nor do my peers. To be fair, I don’t really think that they care.

My supervisor gives me very harsh feedback, and it has come to the point where I am totally doubting my abilities. I understand it’s there job to provide feedback. But it comes across as really aggressive and patronising. I’ve come out of meetings very upset and with terrible anxiety. I’m reluctant to ask questions because of what might be said.

Can anyone offer advice?