darylson101
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Hi, I am considering the Mst in History. Could anybody please tell me about their experience of this course? i.e. what the residential sessions were like, how it was to be at Madingley Hall instead of a college etc.

Thanks in advance
td_100
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Hi

I attended the recent open day and I am a student on the History of Art Diploma, a great venue to study. Slides from the open day are on the website
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by darylson101)
Hi, I am considering the Mst in History. Could anybody please tell me about their experience of this course? i.e. what the residential sessions were like, how it was to be at Madingley Hall instead of a college etc.

Thanks in advance
Is the History MSt actually run in Madingley Hall? The MSt IR isn't, the MSt IR and Creative Writing just matriculated together with the rest of the full-time students in Selwyn at the start of term. They have lectures in town and only go to Madingley for course socials as far as I know. History might run differently I suppose.
td_100
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Yes, it is administered at the ICE and taught in teaching blocks, you matriculate to 1 of 4 colleges, Selwyn is one of them
darylson101
Rep:
?
Yes, from comparing the website of both IR and history, it suggests they are different with history students not being permitted to reside in college accommodation.
threeportdrift
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
Yes, from comparing the website of both IR and history, it suggests they are different with history students not being permitted to reside in college accommodation.
Might be different when you get here, or up to the College. Though Madingley accommodation is better than most College accommodation, basically tudor hotel. The food is excellent, the gardens and buildings are lovely, the bar is good. It's basically a College in the countryside, a few miles outside Cambridge.