Masculinity and being friends with guys. Watch

anonymous11123xo
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I'm a gay guy and I wouldn't say I'm overwhelmingly effeminate; whilst I do enjoy an array of musicals and 'camp things', I also love rap and 'masculine things'. The way I look isn't really masculine but I really want this to change (and I realise that I'm the only one who can make this a reality). I've been friends with girls all of my life, my best friend is a girl and my group in high school was full of girls (I'm in my first year of college). I'm not that stereotypical 'gay best friend': I won't comment on my girl friends' pictures with compliments on the way they look nor do I give them fashion advice, and perhaps the most paramount thing to mention is that I cannot STAND the melodrama that radiates from them. I don't have much in common with straight guys (I must also mention that the thought of having a best friend who is also gay makes want to curl up in a ball - as previously stated, I'm not that 'stereotypical gay' in a sense and I feel like there needs to be a balance with who I'm friends with) yet I really want to be friends with them as they're much more down to earth with everything - they don't get overly emotional over one insignificant thing which happened 5 years ago at 2:37 pm. The only problem which arises from this is that, being me, I would probably end up catching feelings if they were good looking and had a great personality despite the fact that they liked women. I also feel like straight guys wouldn't want to be friends with a gay guy, and even if they did, I wouldn't mean as much to them as they do to me. In addition to this feeling, I have such a low self-esteem and am self-conscious about the way I look. I'm not one of those attention seeking people who claim they're ugly when they really are not (because not to sound pompous and narcissistic, if I were extremely good looking, I feel like I would have the capability to rec