The Student Room Group

I Wish I Hadn't Stayed At Home

My uni's in Glasgow Central, so extremely expensive to live in. I'm an introverted mature student at 25 so I don't want to be in student accommodation. I've heard from a lot of people that it really is party central. My mum's bf is a takeaway delivery driver, and his main clients are students who are up partying from like, 1-5 in the morning. I stayed home (hour commute away) to save money, but I resent the amount of time it's taken up, the fact I'm really struggling to get a social life going, and everything I'm missing out on. I think it'd be so much easier to be a better student if I was living near.

I don't know what to do... I get £750 a month and so many flats are around £500-£600?

I think what it'd be ideal is if I could make friends and flat-share, if I can pay around £400 a month... Then I feel I could live quite happily, as long as I don't go out too often and home cook. :smile:

But honestly, I just want to be near Uni so I can use so much more time for studying, and take part in more uni things to put on my CV. I made the wrong choice.
My uni's in Glasgow Central, so extremely expensive to live in. I'm an introverted mature student at 25 so I don't want to be in student accommodation. I've heard from a lot of people that it really is party central. My mum's bf is a takeaway delivery driver, and his main clients are students who are up partying from like, 1-5 in the morning. I stayed home (hour commute away) to save money, but I resent the amount of time it's taken up, the fact I'm really struggling to get a social life going, and everything I'm missing out on. I think it'd be so much easier to be a better student if I was living near.

I don't know what to do... I get £750 a month and so many flats are around £500-£600?