Mature student for University but not student finance

Watch
HannahRachael
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 months ago
Can someone explain to me why through universities eyes you are classed as a mature student at 21 years old but in student finance’s eyes you are not mature until you are 25, as I’m slightly annoyed that I am 23 years old and seen as a mature student but even though I live on my own and have done for 2 years student finance do not class me as an independent because I am not 25
L4ur41996
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago
I’m having the exact same problem! I’m unsure what they mean as to be self supporting for 3 years
Because I’ve been working full time for 3 years now and so have been “self supporting” and paying rent etc but have only lived out of home for 1 year!
It’s so annoying because if I have to put my dads income I’ll get way less finance!
Reality Check
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 11 months ago
(Original post by HannahRachael)
Can someone explain to me why through universities eyes you are classed as a mature student at 21 years old but in student finance’s eyes you are not mature until you are 25, as I’m slightly annoyed that I am 23 years old and seen as a mature student but even though I live on my own and have done for 2 years student finance do not class me as an independent because I am not 25
Lobby your MP if you want change - this is decided by the Government, not by SFE or anyone else.

I agree it's a stupid policy.
999tigger
Badges: 19
Report 11 months ago
(Original post by HannahRachael)
Whether a university considers you mature or not is pretty meaningless. Nothing depends on it. Clearly you arent actually mature at 21 and its only a method used to distinguish people who are applying other than immediately after leaving school. Feel free to point out what its significance is for universities.