Really bad mark on first assignment Watch

Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I’ve just got my first assignment result and it was really really bad :/// (34%). Im feeling so down because I’ve never done this bad before. The bad thing is this assignment is worth 80% of the module so now I’ve think I might have to re-sit it :/
Reality Check
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
I’ve just got my first assignment result and it was really really bad :/// (34%). Im feeling so down because I’ve never done this bad before. The bad thing is this assignment is worth 80% of the module so now I’ve think I might have to re-sit it :/
Most modules require you to pass both elements (exam and coursework) at 40% each, not as a combined total. If this is the case, (check your course/module regulations) you will have to resubmit it regardless of the total contribution of the coursework element to the overall module.
Anonymous #1
(Original post by Reality Check)
Most modules require you to pass both elements (exam and coursework) at 40% each, not as a combined total. If this is the case, (check your course/module regulations) you will have to resubmit it regardless of the total contribution of the coursework element to the overall module.
At my uni I think you only need 30% in each but your overall grade must be 40% to pass
Reality Check
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
At my uni I think you only need 30% in each but your overall grade must be 40% to pass
OK - so long as you're sure. That takes the pressure off a bit.

What was the feedback like? Were there any specific areas where you lost a significant number of marks, such as inadequate referencing, or was it a more generalised thing? If you didn't get decent, detailed feedback, then it's crucial that you ask for it. I'd also arrange to meet the marker of the work (or course leader/lecturer for the module) to discuss it in more detail.