Typing original notes (condensed) then writing them during study sessions, effective? Watch

jam1e
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I started my biology degree this year, and I've quickly found that I'm not good at writing out notes. I'm very picky and like my original notes to be neat and clear, but I write like a toddler so I can't bare to read back through my own notes. I'm also a very slow writer and writing my notes left me falling behind on lecture notes. I know writing notes means that you retain the information better, but would it be as effective if I typed the notes originally, and then wrote them up during studying and since these aren't my actual revision notes I can just write them up normally and not have to worry about how messy they are. I also plan on using my original notes to make flashcards too, does this sound like it'll be effective for memorising and learning the information?

izzy.nesbit
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by jam1e)
I started my biology degree this year, and I've quickly found that I'm not good at writing out notes. I'm very picky and like my original notes to be neat and clear, but I write like a toddler so I can't bare to read back through my own notes. I'm also a very slow writer and writing my notes left me falling behind on lecture notes. I know writing notes means that you retain the information better, but would it be as effective if I typed the notes originally, and then wrote them up during studying and since these aren't my actual revision notes I can just write them up normally and not have to worry about how messy they are. I also plan on using my original notes to make flashcards too, does this sound like it'll be effective for memorising and learning the information?