little-Jboy
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I am a year 13 student planning to do mechanical engineering. im taking a gap year. can someone help me find a work place ???
Wired_1800
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by little-Jboy)
I am a year 13 student planning to do mechanical engineering. im taking a gap year. can someone help me find a work place ???
You have to find opportunities online and apply for them. I assume that you would want a paid opportunity and this has to be applied for. You have to be prepared for disappointments though, many engineering companies don't seem to take pre-University students because you lack the knowledge to do proper work to warrant the wages.

If I was you, I would not take a gap year and go straight to uni next year. However, it is your decision.

Good luck.
little-Jboy
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
(Original post by Wired_1800)
You have to find opportunities online and apply for them. I assume that you would want a paid opportunity and this has to be applied for. You have to be prepared for disappointments though, many engineering companies don't seem to take pre-University students because you lack the knowledge to do proper work to warrant the wages.

If I was you, I would not take a gap year and go straight to uni next year. However, it is your decision.

Good luck.
Thank you for the answer, my reason for taking a gap year is because my predicted grades are not good enough to apply for the universities that i want to go. I am applying for a year in industry from EDT. I am just wonder if you know any other places i can apply. Just to be safe.
Wired_1800
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by little-Jboy)