DH95
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Am I eligible for a doctoral loan?

I am a current PhD student at the University of Edinburgh. I have received loans in the past for my undergrad and masters but am wondering if i am eligible for a doctoral loan as I now live full time in Scotland. (for my undergrad and masters I was also registered as living in England with my parents, but now live exclusively in Scotland)

Under the eligibility here, it looks like I would not be eligible.

https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/stu...an-eligibility

Furthermore, you are ineligible if : "you’ve received or will receive Research Council funding (for example, studentships, stipends, scholarships and tuition fee support)" while I do not receive research council funding I do receive a studentship from my university. Does this have an effect too?

So, my question is, given these circumstances am I eligible for a loan?
Graeme SFE
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by DH95)
Am I eligible for a doctoral loan?

I am a current PhD student at the University of Edinburgh. I have received loans in the past for my undergrad and masters but am wondering if i am eligible for a doctoral loan as I now live full time in Scotland. (for my undergrad and masters I was also registered as living in England with my parents, but now live exclusively in Scotland)

Under the eligibility here, it looks like I would not be eligible.

https://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/stu...an-eligibility

Furthermore, you are ineligible if : "you’ve received or will receive Research Council funding (for example, studentships, stipends, scholarships and tuition fee support)" while I do not receive research council funding I do receive a studentship from my university. Does this have an effect too?

So, my question is, given these circumstances am I eligible for a loan?
Hi,

Can you please confirm your nationality? When did your PhD course start?

Warm regards, Graeme
DH95
Rep:
?