The Student Room Group

Can you swim?

Poll

Can you swim?

Quite recently a young teenage girl drowned in a river in my town, and about 18 months prior my cousin drowned in the same river. I think this highlights an important flaw in our society surrounding water safety and swimming.
I just want to know can you swim? What can you remember about water safety? Do you have any similar stories? And just to know your thoughts/comments on this.
(edited 4 years ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Nope.
Original post by Bio 7
Nope.

Did you ever get swim lessons before? Or if not do you plan on learning?
Living on the coast, my parents deemed it important that I was able to swim.
I had my first lesson at 5, and was swimming soon after.
I am now a strong swimmer, as a teenager i got a certificate for swimming a mile. Doubt i could do that sort of distance now lol.
Yes, I’m an expert swimmer.
I couldn't swim well until I was like 9 and so my parents made me go to swimming lessons and I'm very grateful for that
No I can't even float :redface:.i want to learn swimming but i never had to opportunity to . Unfortunately I came to England when I was in year 6 so I missed our on the swimming lessons ( year 5 was the last year ) . Its a shame Because now I don't have the time to learn it even if I wanted to . And I think I would look a bit silly , a 17 year old in the pool who is in floats but the tiny toddler isn't and can swim perfectly :frown:. I don't want that embarrassment.
(edited 4 years ago)
Original post by Karisa96
Living on the coast, my parents deemed it important that I was able to swim.
I had my first lesson at 5, and was swimming soon after.
I am now a strong swimmer, as a teenager i got a certificate for swimming a mile. Doubt i could do that sort of distance now lol.

Would you feel safe if you were placed in a bad situation requiring you to swim? I certainly wouldnt, it’s something I defo need to improve personally
(Also, impressive that you could? swim a mile)