The Student Room Group

Struggling as a first year uni student .

Hi, I came across this after reading other people’s struggles with university. I am currently a first year student doing Criminology and Sociology however I’m really struggling , these past few months have been a blur, I feel as if I have learnt nothing, gone to seminars/ lectures coming out more confused than ever. It’s really impacting my mental wellbeing and is making me panic I have assessments which are approaching and I don’t have a clue what to do. I have been so ill this week and just feel all over the place. I don’t feel like seeing friends either. What should I do?
(edited 4 years ago)
Original post by Max Marziano
Hi, I came across this after reading other people’s struggles with university. I am currently a first year student doing Criminology and Sociology however I’m really struggling , these past few months have been a blur, I feel as if I have learnt nothing, gone to seminars/ lectures coming out more confused than ever. It’s really impacting my mental wellbeing and is making me panic I have assessments which are approaching and I don’t have a clue what to do. I have been so ill this week and just feel all over the place. I don’t feel like seeing friends either. What should I do?

Have you spoken to your tutor about your academic worries? Have you contacted Student Wellbeing about your MH? These are really positive first steps you could take to making things better. People want to help you at uni, and want you to succeed, but they can only do this if you come forward to say that you're struggling a bit with things. You're not the only one who'll be feeling like this - the first term is always difficult for any student.

Get some help and advice to make your life a bit easier. :smile:
Yes I have taken these steps. Thank you for your comment means a lot.
Reply 3
Original post by Max Marziano

Go and see student services and get access to their advice